best for small must for all Shubh Navratri
Home city guide historic events in bellary

Historic Events in Bellary

Taking a plunge into the wonderful pool of the past is indeed breathtaking and exciting for many, especially the history - lovers. Bellary offers the scope of discovering the stories and events of the bygone era through many inscriptions and carvings. Let’s have a look at the chronological events in Bellary.

Chronological Events in Bellary

Neolithic Age

Discovery of many archaeological and Neolithic sites around Bellary is really an influencing factor in making the city a popular tourist spot. Budhihal, Tekkalakote, Kupgal, Sanganakallu Kudithini and Kupgal are some of the sites unraveled by the archaeologists. 

The Sanganakallu settlement stretches over an area of about 4.0 km (1,000 acres). It is no doubt one of the biggest Neolithic sites known around the historic place, Bellary. Archaeologists have found many Neolithic artifacts like mud stone houses, stone axes, painted pottery, rock art as evidence of social ceremonies, grinding grooves, shallow concave surfaces etc.

Ancient History

This city is important for historical reasons. Some events and incidents of the great epic, Ramayana are related to Bellary. According to this epic, Lord Rama met Lord Hanuman and Sugreeva while searching for his wife Sita at a place near Hampi in the Bellary District. The rulers of Vijayanagar constructed the City Of Victory on the Tungabhadra River banks.

Chronological Events in Bellary

Early Rulers of Bellary

300 BCE – 1336 AD - Bellary witnessed the victory and destruction of several dynasties. From Mauryas, Pallavas, Satavahanas, Kadambas, Rashtrakutas, Kalyani Chalukas to Hoysalas, Bellary was ruled by the emperors of all these dynasties.

9th century AD and 1000–1250 AD – A part of the Pallava family named, Nolamba Pallavas conquered Nolambavadi. In the 11th century, they ruled regions of Nolambavadi under Chalukyas and Hoysalas.

1100–1188 AD – Feudatories of Hoysalas, Kalachuryas and Kalyani Chalukyas ruled some regions of Nolambavadi. They actively participated in the battles amongst their overlords.

1336–1565 AD – After the defeat of Hoysalas and Sevuna Yadavas by Allauddin Khilji, Muhammud Bin Tughlaq and Malik Kafur, the Vijayanagara Dynasty arose under Bukka I and Harihara I. Bellary region was dominated by the rulers of the Vijayanagara dynasty until 1565 A.D. The city itself was captured by the family of Hande Hanumappa Nayaka.

1565 AD – With the Talikote Battle, the dominance of Vijayanagara Dynasty came to an end. They were defeated by Deccan Sultanates. After their fall, the Nayakas of Bellary became subsidiary to Bijapur Sultanate, Adilshahi.

1678 AD – Bellary was under the dominance of the rule of Nayakas. But it was a subsidiary part of the Marathas led by Shivaji.

 Bellary Historical Events

1724 – During this era, the region was captured by Aurangzeb, the famous Mughal ruler.

1724 AD – Asif Jah I, the Subedar of Malwa and Gujarat killed and dethroned Mobariz Khan during the conflict in Shakar Kheda, in the Berar district. Asif came to be known as Nizam-ul-mulk and the region was included in the Nizam’s domination.

1761 AD
– During this time, Bellary was included as a tributary to Basalat Jang.

1769 AD – The Nayakas denied giving tribute to the Jang. Later became angry and occupied Bellary. The Nayaka had no other option than to ask for help from Hyder Ali to rescue Bellary. Hyder Ali defeated Jang and added Nayakas in his tributary list.

1792 AD – The district was handed over to the Nizam Asif Jah II after the crucial Third Anglo-Mysore War.

1800 AD – After the demise of Tipu Sultan at Srirangapattanam, the territories of Mysore were again divided between Asif Jah II, Wodeyars and the British.

1800–1807 AD – Bellary witnessed number of political changes. But, Nayakas were the de-facto leaders of the region, while their chiefs changed constantly. This trend changed when Major Thomas Munro established the Ryotwari system.

Ancient History Bellary

1808 AD - The ceded districts were divided and named as Kadapa and Bellary districts respectively. The districts were divided in the year 1808.

1867 - It became the district headquarter.

1867  - The Bellary Municipal Corporation was organized in 1867. The Adoni Municipal Council was also created.

1894 - Establishment of a steam cotton-spinning mill made the region flourish.

Bellary became the seventh largest town in Madrasa Presidency

1901 - Bellary became an important place and the seventh largest city in Madras Presidency. It was one of the crucial military stations in southern part of India. The city included Cowl Bazar, the Cantonment, a civil railway station and some parts of Mellorpet and Brucepet. The town consisted of two industries – two steam cotton presses and a small distillery.

1 October, 1953 - The district split due to linguistic issues in the year 1953. Regions with Kannada speaking people were handed over to Mysore State. It later came to be known as Karnataka State. Regions with Telugu speaking population were amalgamated into the Karnulu and Anantapuram districts, which later became the state of Andhra Pradesh. Bellary city with large numbers of Telugu and Kannada speakers was merged into Mysore after several controversies and debates.

1997 – With the re-organization of Karnataka districts, the Harapanahalli Taluk was shifted to Devanagere district.

2004 - The city municipal council was renovated to a city corporation in the year 2004. 

Explore more about History of Bellary

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries